Rolling Back

Back in August of 2010, when I wrote a post about my blogroll, I wanted to update that post frequently to keep it in sync with my blogroll as it evolved….

So much for that.

But it turns out, letting it lay fallow for almost three years means that I can do a “Where Are They Now” post.

So where are they now?

Truly Dead Blogs
ChrisAshworth.org/blog, by Chris Ashworth (Chris_Ashworth on Twitter) deleted about a year ago, sort of (?) replaced by his company blog, Notes from Figure 53
ranchero.com by Brent Simmons (brentsimmons on Twitter), dead, in favor of inessential.com
Well-Placed Pixels no author listed, server not responding
iPhone & iPad UX Reviews by Suzanne Ginsburg (suzanneginsburg on Twitter), per last post, shutting down 4/2014, replaced by Touchy Talk
Sharing the truth one thread at a time no author listed, deleted by author

Slumbering Blogs, Last Updated…
3/2013 Alan Quatermain by Jim Dovey, now working at Apple (alanQuatermain on Twitter)
2011 Dave Dribin’s Blog by Dave Dribin (ddribin on Twitter)
2010 Lap Cat Software Blog by Jeff Johnson (lapcat on app.net, no longer on Twitter)
2011 Cocoa with Love by Matt Gallagher (cocoawithlove on Twitter)
6/2013 venomous porridge by Dan Wineman (dwineman on Twitter)

Transformed Blogs
iPhone Development by Jeff LaMarche (jeff_lamarche on Twitter), since 7/2013 exclusively about developing his company’s game “Turncoat”
Matt Legend Gemmell by Matt Gemmell (mattgemmell on Twitter) since 1/2014 switched from development to fiction (and non-?) writing full time
Red Sweater Blog by Daniel Jalkut (danielpunkass on Twitter), now solely a company blog, personal topics at Bitsplitting.org (which was briefly a podcast)
ignore the code by Lukas Mathis (LKM on Twitter), recent very long post on Windows Metro, signaling possible change in focus?

Surviving Categories

In-Depth Technical (new, see below for explanation)
rentzsch.tumblr.com by Jonathan “Wolf” Rentzsch (rentzsch on Twitter)
inessential.com by Brent Simmons (brentsimmons on Twitter)
NSBlog by Mike Ash (mikeash on Twitter)
ridiculous_fish by “an engineer on the AppKit team”
Hamster Emporium by Greg Parker (gparker‎ on Twitter)

Commentary
Daring Fireball by John Gruber (gruber on Twitter)
Marco.org by Marco Arment (marcoarment on Twitter)
Apple Outsider by Matt Drance (drance on Twitter)
Waffle, by Jesper, back after a two-year hiatus

Explanation!
In my original post, I had five categories, Well-Rounded, In-Depth Coding, Low-Level, Design Blogs, and Commentary.

Well-Rounded took the biggest beating, with only two blogs coming out of it completely unchanged. Both blogs, the one from my podcast cohost Jonathan “Wolf” Rentzsch and the one from the exceptionally prolific Brent Simmons, I would now put in a new In-Depth Technical category; it just seems more fitting given their primarily technical content.

One of my two In-Depth Coding blogs is also slumbering, but otherwise it and the two Low-Level blogs are intact, probably because they just keep posting at long intervals. (How would I even know if they were on hiatus?) Again, now I’m lumping them into the new In-Depth Technical category.

Design Blogs is also gone, with one blog dead, one slumbering, and one potentially transformed. That leaves the clear winner, the Commentary blogs: six out of eight are still going strong. Though, it turns out, I personally no longer subscribe to either asymco or Smoking Apples, so I’ve removed those from my list. (Perhaps they were going a little too strong for my taste?)

Even with many of the “dead” or “slumbering” blogs, their authors are still active on twitter, so I still follow them there.

Rolling Forward
Now that I’ve gotten the old blogs out of the way, my next post will talk about all the new stuff.